You are here

Our Mission


On 21 May 2019, the Common Maritime Agenda (hereafter CMA) Ministerial Declaration was agreed by the seven Black Sea coastal countries: Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova (hereafter Moldova). Based on the positive experience of sustainable development initiatives in other sea basins, such as the West Med Initiative, the steering committee decided to schedule a number of regional seminars, stakeholders’ events and high-level meetings to raise awareness, facilitate stakeholders’ involvement and networking and identify significant projects for the region.

The regional organisations and bodies active in the regions are closely involved in the CMA, including the Permanent International Secretariat of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC PERMIS) and the Permanent Secretariat of the Commission on the Protection of the Black Sea Against Pollution. Having as observers the Secretariat of the General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean, the Secretariat of the Conference of Peripheral and Maritime Regions, and the Managing Authority of the Joint Operational Programme Black Sea Basin.

The Declaration confirmed the commitment of the participating countries to implement the CMA and to follow on the agreed implementation process. The Ministers also welcomed and acknowledge the importance of the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda for the Black Sea (hereafter SRIA), which is also annexed to the Ministerial Declaration. SRIA is the R&D  pillar of the CMA, which was launched by the Black Sea research and innovation community on 8 May 2019 in Bucharest.

The Common Maritime Agenda is the Black Sea initiative to support and develop  the Blue Economy  thanks to  cooperation projects  funded with international and regional donors

 The Black Sea CMA  ambition is to bridge the Europe-Asia shores through reinforcing cooperation on the blue economy and restoring endangered marine ecosystems.

The CMA sets three major goals for the Black Sea:

1) Healthy marine and coastal ecosystems;

2) A competitive, innovative and sustainable blue economy;

3) Fostering investment.


The Black Sea Assistance Mechanism (BSAM) has been established in order to support the Implementation and the Monitoring of the Common Maritime Agenda (CMA) in the Black Sea , as a continuation of the tasks carried until January 2020 to promote the development of Blue Growth and Blue Economy in the Black Sea basin.

The project will be developed in the Black Sea coastal countries, i.e. Bulgaria, Romania, Turkey, Ukraine, Russia, Georgia, including the Republic of Moldova, and excluding the volatile regions in these countries, for a period of 2 years.



The BSAM team (its central team and the national hubs)  is to support efficiently and timely the seven CMA participating countries and the CMA SG members, the CMA rotating Coordinator, the blue economy stakeholder’s community in the Black Sea and the European Commission.

The BSAM should be involved in the implementation and monitoring of the CMA priorities at regional and national level. This includes providing support and expertise to the national CMA coordinators and other public authorities involved in the CMA.

The BSAM will also be tasked to promote and foster stakeholders dialogue and provide support to the blue economy stakeholders at regional and national level. Promoting regional dialogue on sustainable Blue Economy development in the Black Sea will be of greater importance.